Lots of layering and cross hatching necessary as this work progresses.  One important part of the success of this drawing is this large granite slab that overhangs to such a degree that it casts a heavy shadow.  It’s vital that it looks like it has height and volume.  I enjoy this type of approach to drawing but only in small amounts at a time.  I enjoy the challenge of getting such realism with graphite pencil.  This is a large drawing so I’ll need lots of patience to see it to conclusion.  I’ll be pleased in the end I’m sure because I simply love this scene.

~ by Dean Richards on January 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
